19 February 2009 @ 11:13 am
I'm starting to get the impression I'm typing into a vaccuum here... but that may just be a perception founded in my increasing sense of isolation in general.

Metro, as usual, totally dropped the ball this morning, as they hit 45 minutes delays from breaking a goddamn *cleaning* truck on their rails. Last I checked they still are behind. That's just great, guys, I love being super-late to work because you're incompetent morons. Just what I needed. Oh, add on to that the employees SCREAMING at us as we tried to get to the escalator, because we committed the cardinal sin of walking towards the one we were blocking. Classy. Meanwhile their complaint form on the web has degenerated to "Thanks for your comment, don't write again." I swear I am not making this up.

Other thoughts:

-- I normally run with a high-risk investment profile in my retirement plan, but this last year I'd been lazy and not switched it away. Probably a good thing, since apparently the stock option I'd have preferred had a -40% return. I put in to have my password for the website reset, but apparently their information technology is a decade or so back, since they apparently have to *mail* it to me. Oh well; note to self, once I get it, cash in on the market crash, be wealthy in retirement!

-- Citizens Bank dicked me over by failing to close my account when I requested it, when I'd moved. Now that's a big blemish on my credit report (or at least the one I checked) saying I had it 60 days past due. My report is pretty damn clean otherwise, so than one thing alone could be zinging me 100 points. I called Citizens to ask them to please recognize that THEY screwed up and would they please correct it, only to get the ultimate brush-off. So now, angry letter writing campaign. Just what I wanted!

-- I think I have a plan for cleaning the basement a little. I hope.

-- Yu-Gi-Oh The Abridged Series is hilarious. Seriously.
( Post a new comment )
[identity profile] siliconrose.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 04:50 pm (UTC)
Honestly, I've been feeling the same way. It just seems like no one responds to what I'm writing. Is it because a number of my friends have lost interest and I haven't built up new ones? Is it because of a dearth of interest in blogging in general?

I dunno, but it makes me feel rather lonely.

Heh. If you keep writing them letters, eventually they will listen, if only to shut you up. ^^
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 04:58 pm (UTC)
Hey, I responded. ^.^ The only thing that keeps me from going into any further detail is the technical level you've occasionally reached... I have no idea what to say to your laptop VPN issues. :)
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] siliconrose.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 05:05 pm (UTC)
The sad thing is that I'm not sure anyone knows what to say to my laptop VPN issues, including the people who set it up. This is the huge problem with "security by not telling people what they did wrong"; if you don't tell the person what went wrong, then you're stuck with a huge slate of possibilities and only completely unreasonable methods of determining which one it is.

I have debugged into other people's APIs because of that principle.

I understand; just remember that sometimes it's nice to know that someone's listening, even if they don't have anything 'useful' to say.

Side note: God damn you, IE8. I have no idea what criteria you're using to determine whether I want to hit enter and have it select "Submit" or whether I want a carriage return in the text box, but whatever it is, YOU ARE DOING IT WRONG.

Edited 2009-02-19 05:08 pm (UTC)
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 06:17 pm (UTC)
I have to use IE here at work, and I can't abide it. I'm always glad to get back home to Firefox. :)
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] siliconrose.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 06:43 pm (UTC)
I don't dislike IE in general. Unfortunately, when you get in on a beta product, you just have to accept you're on the bleeding edge.

Emphasis on the "bleeding".
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 07:12 pm (UTC)
True enough. ( <-- has been in exactly two betas all his life.)
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] elf-fu.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 05:48 pm (UTC)
I read.

I read almost every single day, but I don't always respond. I have always been this way.

If I don't, if I can't think of anything to say I don't. There are days, weeks, were I don't get any replies. I know I am not typing into a vacuum however, because someone always makes an offhand comment that they are reading.

I made sure I put a big old warning up in my profile here at el-jay too.

I've found, however, in my case-- the amount of comments I give out always reflect on what I get. The more I comment, the more I get in return.

It's...really odd how the give and take works, but it does. So I, personally, can't complain when I know I've been skipping out on commenting and not getting any myself.
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 07:12 pm (UTC)
It never bothers me that any given person doesn't comment. It does make me wonder when very, very few if any people are doing so, is all. ^.^
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] simbel-myne.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 06:47 pm (UTC)
I totally feel you on the dead air issue.
People only comment if you've said something inflammatory.
Hang in there, we're all reading still.
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on February 19th, 2009 07:13 pm (UTC)
I don't think I could even manage to say inflammatory things and get comments... there's a great deal of "write off that lunatic rambling!" built into most of my friendships!
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] adept.livejournal.com on February 20th, 2009 12:28 am (UTC)
I read every couple of days at the least...but I have two (shortly three) little buggers that take up the vast majority of my time. I keep feeling bad that I don't reply or even email any of my friends as often as I would like.

I also find myself thinking of responses long after I've read something, usually in particularly inconvenient times/places, like while changing a baby at 5 am, and I haven't figured out how to say anything.
(Reply) (Link)