30 November 2007 @ 02:59 am
WOW ramblings. Pay no heed.
Attention Alliance:

FUCKING.

STOP.

TURTLING.

WSG.

YOU LOST. YOU WILL NOT RECOVER FROM 2-0. DEAL WITH IT. LOSE GRACEFULLY. TRY TO MAKE AN EFFORT TO THE ACTUAL GOALS OF THE BG.

Attention Horde:

"lol just keep killing"

IS THE STUPIDEST PLAN EVER.

THERE IS A REASON THE TWO PEOPLE WHO WERE ACTUALLY ATTEMPTING TO CAPTURE THE FLAG /afkED OUT.

L2KNOWTHEGODDAMNOBJECTIVEOFTHEBGKAITHANXBAI.


::sigh:: Why are there only, like, eight competent people in all of WoW?

Nothing to see here, move along.
Current Mood: pissed off
( Post a new comment )
[identity profile] cyfis.livejournal.com on November 30th, 2007 06:30 pm (UTC)
Don't do BGs with PuGs, maybe?

You should see Eye of the Storm. "lol let's get the flag guyz". Flag is meaningless without towers. Arathi Basin is similarly full of stupid, as is the retarded race for the enemy general in AV (it was great for a couple of days when 2.3 was first implemented, now they've reverted to zergrush). Someone once described AV as a Bugs Bunny cartoon: two large armies rush at each other and miss.

BGs are awesome fun if you happen to get a non-retarded group. I've had EotS matches where we 4-cap the towers in 12 minutes, AV where we bottle the Alliance up at Iceblood and watch them break at the towers until they run out of points. A couple of weeks ago I was with a small group of 4 people who joined together and systematically ran around AB capping all the objectives just one step ahead of the Alliance.

For every one of these, however, Sturgeon's Law dictates you have at least 5 more where the participants wouldn't understand tactics if it bit them on the arse.
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on November 30th, 2007 08:32 pm (UTC)
Don't have the people to do a WSG premade. Actually, on my BG, we usually end up in exactly this situation (2/0 Alliance turtle) but also usually smash through it given a few tries. Last night was just one of those games where you get the idiots farming HKs in the midfield.

I tried my first EOTS game yesterday too. Walked in to an instant-loss from not enough people, barely even got to see how the game works. Oh well.

AB remains my favorite BG of all. Even if you get some idiots, there's enough flex in the system that you can recover, and generally the major failings people have don't bite them in the ass too much (inability to comprehend non-murderous objective in WSG, inability to defend in AV).

I do admit I'm really not looking forward to BGs at 70, when the gear will break open. :/ I guess I still maintain futile hope that we'll achieve some real raiding or something.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] cyfis.livejournal.com on November 30th, 2007 08:53 pm (UTC)
The majority of BGs are not so gear dependent because there will be a spread of geared players on both sides, and individual skill/gear matters less than overall coordination and tactics.

As for raiding, you could try to form an alliance with another small guild if you can't field 10 people yourself?
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on November 30th, 2007 11:06 pm (UTC)
I would not be so concerned if not for the recent release of S1.

Our guild's dead-ended at this point. We have about eight active players total. I'm pretty much thinking that we're gonna have to follow in our ex-guildies' footsteps and move mains into the lone Horde raiding guild on our server, barring a change. (We may be able to field five-mans soon, if our pally respecs Holy and our other pally can tank decently when he reaches Outland, but meh.)

(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] cyfis.livejournal.com on November 30th, 2007 11:44 pm (UTC)
Er, all of your players are DPS?
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on December 1st, 2007 12:25 am (UTC)
Our current crowd of Outland people is me and [livejournal.com profile] tigerphoenix (68 lock, 68 hunter), a 65 lock, and a 63 pally (ret). We have a prot pallie almost to Outland and the ret pally is considering a respect to Holy, which would give us a 5-man team.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] cyfis.livejournal.com on December 1st, 2007 12:36 am (UTC)
Tell your Prot pally to spec ret until he's 70. Prot blows at leveling :P

Lack of healers/tanks is a problem with a small guild. We had some issues with that way back when (had plenty of healers, no tanks), but then a couple of people switched mains so we have all 3 flavors of tank.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on December 1st, 2007 02:09 am (UTC)
...ha, there's no telling him what to do. He's levelled as prot from the very beginning. I've heard that prot is not as bad as some tanking specs so long as you attack multiple mobs at once, but... no changing his mind anyway. He likes his instances.

Our server is just plain tiny and 1.6:1 Ally/Horde, so we really have very little action going on.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] isis.livejournal.com on December 1st, 2007 04:29 pm (UTC)
Sounds like my server, except we're more like 1.6:1 Horde/Alliance. We're a slow progression server, unfortunately. Although my guild, being super casual, keeps up fairly well.

Luckily we finally got some locks in the guild, so Mags went down in a really delayed reaction, and hopefully we'll get back to working on Morogrim and Hydross soon, although we're still trying to finish ZA. (Almost have our fourth boss down there, bleh...)

And I hate WSG. It's probably my least favorite of the BGs. I actually enjoy AV, beyond the awesome honor, and have always been actually doing the fighting, even when it was "normal" for people to afk it. I like EotS too, after AV, then AB, then WSG bringing up the bottom.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on December 1st, 2007 05:28 pm (UTC)
I'd totally lock it up for you if I could. :D

You know, WSG kicks ass if you have a good team. I used to play it with [livejournal.com profile] tigerphoenix and a friend of ours playing a pally. She'd stay back and guard our flag, while the pally ran the Ally flag and I followed right behind him, fearing and CoExing anyone who dared interfere. It's when you get that solid group of midfield HK farmers than it blows.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] isis.livejournal.com on December 1st, 2007 05:38 pm (UTC)
I only PvP with my Boomkin (rawr!). I did a little when I was Tree, then I decided to hate on healing forever and went Boomkin and I refuse to switch back. Not that I do that much besides PvP with her though. My pally is my raider, which sucks sometimes ;-)

We are running with a decent amount of locks finally, which is nice but is causing some drama with our hypersensitive lock who has been the one who runs the majority of our primetime raids since our really awesome lock had to quit for real life. Now we seem to be running with ~three, for our 25 mans, which is really nice.

Actually, our raids seem to be running pretty well on classes lately, which is really nice. We will, hopefully, see progression soon. I'm tired of standing, somewhat, still. There is more SSC or Eye stuff we could be killing than what we're currently at. Bleh.

If you're ever bored, hop on Baelgun and say hi to Sabelle (pally) or Venda (boomkin) or Lana (mage). Usually I'm between the first two, but I need to work on my mage a little (she's almost 67, just cause I've been busy with other stuff and it hasn't been worth my time, but as soon as these papers are done, I'm gonna take the threeish days to finish her to 70).
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] isis.livejournal.com on December 1st, 2007 04:25 pm (UTC)
Eh, I levelled my pally all prot and I did it fast. Not full prot (which she is now, at 70 and is one of the main offtanks in the guild, although she's maintanked ZA at this point, I still like to think I'm an offtank ;-) ).

Prot leveling = reckoning + seal of command = awesomeness...I kill 5 or 6 at the same speed as killing one

I levelled to 70, after the expansion hit (yay horde pally) in a month and a half. Sadly, I probably could do it even faster now, without the faster leveling of 2.3, knowing what I actually know now too. I understand our talents so much better now, I would be a speed demon, but leveling a pally is still painful. Leveling the mage to 70 was much more fun than the pally or the druid.

HOLY blows at leveling. Prot and ret are both decent, if you understand what you're doing with it... ;-)

(Our first pally in the guild to 70 did it in like 3 or 4 weeks? He did it prot/ret specced)
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] cedel.livejournal.com on November 30th, 2007 07:14 pm (UTC)
Uh, what is "turtling?"

The general stupidity of humanity never fails to upset me.
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on November 30th, 2007 08:34 pm (UTC)
In brief, the game I was complaining about is a capture-the-flag game. Turtling, in this case, is when one team abandons all pretense of offense and clusters around their flag en masse to prevent it being taken. It inevitably occurs when the other team is down, 2-0, and everyone to a man hates it because it's a lose-lose tactic. It's impossible to win by turtling; all it accomplishes is spiting the other team.
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] chelle-liz.livejournal.com on December 4th, 2007 04:37 pm (UTC)
I guess it depends on your server. lol

But I know what you mean.
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on December 4th, 2007 07:48 pm (UTC)
Battlegroup, more specifically.

Emberstorm usually puts up a reasonable fight in terms of absolute victory, but it seems populated by a bunch of dumb kids otherwise.
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] dragosteel.livejournal.com on December 8th, 2007 12:05 am (UTC)
This is exactly why I stay out of BG's
(Reply) (Link)