09 October 2006 @ 01:04 am
I think it's time for me to impose productivity on myself, when I have days off.

Up till now, I've resisted this, just because I work so damn much that I try to spend my days off in relaxation or stress detox. Unfortunately, this isn't really working; the days blip by so fast, and I get nothing done, and end up unproductive and cranky when I zip back to work for another run of 12 hour days.

That being the case, I think I'm going to start holding myself to projects.

Major projects:

Grocery shopping (Always, always takes precedence if I need to do a significant run and can afford to)
One "section" of writing (arbitrarily defined, but usually a few thousand words)
DDR to the point of physical exhaustion
One major household cleaning task (e.g. clean an entire room thoroughly)
Laundry

Minor projects:

Chapter editing
Job search
1 hour of DDR
1 minor household chore
1 essay on [livejournal.com profile] wordsofinfamy
3-5 posts on Mutual Endeavors

I'll probably think of more things as I work this, but this sounds good.

On full days off, I'll tentatively hold myself responsible for one major project and two minor.
On partial days off (in which I don't work, but have an appointment or some time-consuming errand which forces me out of the house) I'll do one major one or two minor ones.

I don't know if I want to hold myself to anything on my 8-hour days.

I'm hoping that, as a side benefit to this system, I'll end up saving money and getting in better shape, inasmuch as I'm setting it up to force me to go shopping as needed, which will result in (hopefully) more home-brought meals at work, instead of fast food, and more breakfasts, which will result in eating smaller meals overall more frequently, rather than large meals twice a day.

I'm posting this here, of course, because I'm submitting myself to the forces of peer approval and reinforcement. In other words, I'm counting on you folks to yell at me when I'm bad.

Full day off on Tuesday (I think I tentatively plan "job search," if possible), partial on Wednesday (probably shopping, since I'll be up near the GEagle in Shadyside anyway). Let's see how this goes.
( Post a new comment )
[identity profile] rachaelwynter.livejournal.com on October 9th, 2006 07:51 am (UTC)
How About...
I cheer you on when you do something positive, instead of kicking you when you're in the middle of negative mode? I'm more a fan of positive reiniforcement.
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on October 9th, 2006 03:47 pm (UTC)
Re: How About...
Positive reinforcement, negative reinforcement, and punishment are all means of altering behavior!
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] kaote.livejournal.com on October 9th, 2006 06:31 pm (UTC)
Don't forget upcoming Renfaire goodness! How are the mechanics of getting there going to work?
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] tigerphoenix.livejournal.com on October 9th, 2006 07:12 pm (UTC)
I think he was gonna call you tomorrow to discuss that, but also, my boss at the Haunted House/Forest is begging me to ask you both to work if you come down in time--not that it's really WORK jumping out and scaring the adjksfa out of people...
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] dragonoflife.livejournal.com on October 9th, 2006 07:33 pm (UTC)
Indeed, I AM going to call you tomorrow about that. Day off for me. But everything [livejournal.com profile] tigerphoenix says is correct...
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)